This is the first time I’ve actually listened to this song all the way through, and paid attention to the lyrics. Enjoy

-Anna E

Standard

One thought on “

  1. The middle section of the video is what I got the most. I think that Beyonce wanted to portray a video where she doesn’t have to fit that cultural norm that she must look forward to marriage alone. Also, I could see that girls aren’t supposed to be seen as women of a sexual nature, but boys are, because that’s how they get the girl in the first place. Throughout, she sayings “I woke up like this”, meaning that she went to bed beautiful and woke up the same way, and continues to do so, I’d believe. I’ve never payed to much attention to the video before, but now I have.

    Like

Leave a Reply

